DO YOU FEAR THE LORD? (Seven Reasons Why I Do)


WHO THEN, IS THE MAN THAT FEARS THE LORD?  HE WILL INSTRUCT HIM IN THE WAY CHOSEN FOR HIM.  HE WILL SPEND HIS DAYS IN PROSPERITY AND HIS DESCENDANTS WILL INHERIT THE LAND.  THE LORD CONFIDES IN THOSE WHO FEAR HIM; HE MAKES HIS COVENANT KNOWN TO THEM.  MY EYES ARE EVER ON THE LORD, FOR ONLY HE WILL RELEASE MY FEET FROM THE SNARE.  PSALMS 25:12-15

This scripture above, is such a beautiful promise, from God concerning “The Fear of God.”  So I claim it, as I do all of his promises.

In talking about the “Fear of the Lord.”  Throughout many conversations, I have heard and also participated in, I have heard many view points.  Some will say, “Well I do not fear God, but I respect him.”  Or some might say,  “I have great reverence for him.  But fear him, no, he is too good to me, I love him, I am not afraid of God.”  Or someone just might say, “Why should I fear God?  I don’t even believe in him”….

Wow, just because you don’t believe in God, does not mean He does not exist.  And I know he does….but for those other comments, well, all I can say, is thats between you and God, but I am careful in this.

For the record, I will just say….I FEAR GOD!

And this is why….There are many scriptures, that talk about fearing God.  And each one, for its reasons, uses the word fear.  So, lets analyze it.

Fear according to the dictionary –

fear |fi(ə)r|nounan unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat : drivers are threatening to quit their jobs in fear after a cabby’s murder | fear of increasing unemployment | he is prey to irrational fears.• archaic a mixed feeling of dread and reverence : the love and fear of God.• ( fear for) a feeling of anxiety concerning the outcome of something or the safety and well-being of someone : police launched a search for the family amid fears for their safety.• the likelihood of something unwelcome happening : she could observe the other guests without too much fear of attracting attention.

Key words here, something or someone who is dangerous.  God has throughout the Bible, shown his power, and that he is able to control, events, or situations.  Why would you not fear someone who has that power?  Think about it… He controls the weather.  Just as one example, but would it not be wise, to know, because of that, he can protect you from the elements?  Protect you even from lightning?  Or tornadoes, or whatever.  But just knowing He is God, actually does put the fear of God in me….to watch myself.

So here are a few reasons why I fear God.

1.  He is not mocked.  And when someone does not “fear” God, I believe, they could be in some shaky territory.  I dread, the consequences of sin, because, I know, we reap what we sow.  But this scripture, from Galatians 6:7-9 explains it:

DO NOT BE DECEIVED:  GOD CANNOT BE MOCKED.  A MAN REAPS WHAT HE SOWS.  THE ONE WHO SOWS TO PLEASE HIS SINFUL NATURE, FROM THAT NATURE WILL REAP DESTRUCTION THE ONE WHO SOWS TO PLEASE THE SPIRIT, FROM THE SPIRIT, WILL REAP ETERNAL LIFE.

2.  It is a Commandment:

Deuteronomy 6:13:

THOU SHALT FEAR THE LORD THY GOD AND SERVE HIM….

3.  I seek wisdom, and understanding:

PROVERBS 9:11

THE FEAR OF THE LORD IS THE BEGINNING OF WISDOM: AND THE KNOWLEDGE OF THE HOLY IS UNDERSTANDING.

4.  I hate evil:

Proverbs 8:13

THE FEAR OF THE LORD IS TO HATE EVIL:  PRIDE, AND ARROGANCY, AND THE EVIL WAY, AND THE FROWARD MOUTH, DO I HATE.

5.  I long for life, sweet life, that comes from what Christ did, because he comes to give life abundantly.  But the enemy comes to kill, steal and destroy.

PROVERBS 19:23

THE FEAR OF THE LORD TENDETH TO LIFE:  AND HE THAT HATH IT , SHALL ABIDE SATISFIED:  HE SHALL NOT BE VISITED WITH EVIL.

PROVERBS 14:27

THE FEAR OF THE LORD IS A FOUNTAIN OF LIFE, TURNING A MAN FROM THE SNARES OF DEATH.

6.  I am so grateful that by fearing God HE does teach me personally:

PSALM 34:11

COME MY CHILDREN, LISTEN TO ME, I WILL TEACH YOU THE FEAR OF THE LORD.

7.   I fear God, because the consequences are forever…

ECCLESIASTES 3:14

I KNOW THAT, WHOSOEVER GOD DOETH, IT SHALL BE FOREVER;  NOTHING CAN BE PUT TO IT,  NOR ANYTHING TAKEN FROM IT:  AND GOD DOES IT, THAT MEN SHOULD FEAR BEFORE HIM.

And these are just some scriptures, that substantiate, “My Fear of God.”  But to just say it in simple terms, as well, to me, in having a fear of God….  It, is healthy.  Truly healthy, for spirit, soul, body, and mind.  It keeps me in check.  It keeps me in a place, where I will not depart from his ways, and sin.  It keeps me safe, from worldly views.  It keeps me, longing, more and more, to be in his good grace.  I know, that my life, is in his hands.  I don’t gamble on that.  I fear God.  In doing so, it gives me confidence, to know, He can take care of me.  He can protect me.  He can provide for me, and so much more.  You see, God, is not like us.  In the sense, that we look at things sometimes intellectually, but He is supernatural.  His ways are not our ways.  There is none like him.  No one…He is the great creator, of heaven and earth.  And I think it is just foolish, to not see, his power.  Or to not see, his plan.  Thats why knowing, and reading the word of God, gives you insight, as to who He is.  Yes, I do fear God, and I want to please him, because I love him.  I love him, because he sent his son, to die for my sins.  To spare me the wrath of hell.  I am so grateful.  So yes, I fear God.

Just My Thoughts….With  love, in Christ,  Elena Ramirez

ECCLESIASTES 12:13

LET US HEAR THE CONCLUSION OF THE WHOLE MATTER:  FEAR GOD, AND KEEP HIS COMMANDMENTS:  FOR THIS IS THE WHOLE DUTY OF MAN.  FOR GOD SHALL BRING EVERY WORK INTO JUDGEMENT, WITH EVERY SECRET THING, WHETHER IT BE GOOD, OR WHETHER IT BE EVIL.

My Prayer of Hope….

Lord, I love you, I praise you, and yes, I do fear you, seeking to please you.  Seeking to do your will.  Lord, the fear of you is just something, I have because you are God, and there is no one like you.  You control everything in my life, and I do not take anything to chance.  I trust you.  But in that fear, I strive to obey you.  Thank you Lord, I pray this will just bring more understanding.  To know, truly the fear of you, is the beginning of wisdom….In Jesus name,  Amen

This is a Prayer of Hope, I wrote a few years ago….concerning “The fear of the Lord.”

I pray it blesses you.

http://home.comcast.net/~prayerofgod/Thefearofthelord.html

All Copy Rights Reserved by law

Prayer of God Ministries….

The Best of God (A Testimony) This is a testimony of how God answered my prayer in a sweet and beautiful way.  I hope it blesses you.Elena Ramirez Prayer of God Ministries.All prayer requests, comments, and feedback is appreciated.  If you would like to subscribe, you may do so, at the blog.  This will ensure that you will receive them and will help me manage, and keep your e-mail address, safe from spammers. Etc.

I am seeking employment to write for your newsletter, blog or newspaper.

If you would like more information, please contact me at prayerofgod@comcast.net.

You may also find more of my links, and information at the top link, of this blog, that gives my mission statement.

I pray Numbers 6:24-26 for you.

Please check out my web page of Daily Bible Stories.  Blessed by a ministry that provides this.

Click this link.

http://home.comcast.net/~poetryofhope/dailybiblestories.htm



I invite you, to check out this link if you need to go to the throne, and make it right with God.

The prayer I have written is the basic sinners prayer….I encourage you to read it, and pray it.

God loves you, and it is so important that we are right with God, because we never know, when he will take our lives….Be ready, and prepared.  Pray this prayer….

Prayer Of Salvation

If ever doing a word search for my Prayers of Hope, here at wordpress.com

Check out, the key word of:  “Prayers of Hope.”  Or search here, on my blog.

Elena’s other blogs to check out…..

Please Sign up for your subscription today on each one….

and be blessed….God loves you, so do I!!

http://fromelenasdesk.wordpress.com

http://poetryofhope.wordpress.com

http://testimoniesofgod.wordpress.com 


6 thoughts on “DO YOU FEAR THE LORD? (Seven Reasons Why I Do)

  1. I don’t mean to intrude on your blog; I was curious after I read your comment on my post concerning Obama controlling the internet.
    I must say I am highly impressed with your understanding of what the fear of the Lord is.
    Most people take ‘fear’ for reverence which you indicated. I had written an article some time ago attempting to explain that many professing Christians have what I call, a ‘ground level’ understanding of the things of God. Kinda like looking down the street of your neighborhood while standing on your front lawn. But if one would go up to the roof and look at the same neighborhood, they would have a different view and see and understand more of how it’s put together. The higher one goes the better the view, the better understanding; yes the “bigger picture”.
    The same principle can be applied to one’s spiritual life. If one just attends church every week and relies only on “Sunday school” for their bible study, and maybe go to Wednesday night services, that is okay I suppose, but they will never go “higher” in their spiritual life to see the things of God from a different view, thus their understanding is never nourished. (I hope you get what I mean)

    I think Proverbs Chapter 2 vs. 1 through 4 explains what it takes to attain verse 5 (to understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God).

    That is IF we recieve His words
    HIDE His commandments
    INCLINE our ears
    APPLY our hearts to understanding
    CRY after knowledge
    LIFTEST our voice for understanding
    SEEK as for silver
    SEARCH as for hid treasure

    Only AFTER all that … THEN shalt thou understand the fear of the Lord, and find the knowledge of God.

    As I said I’m sorry to intrude on your wonderful blog; and I apologize for running on. I hope you have a great week.

    • Intrude? Steve I welcome your comments. I think you have hit it right on the nail!!! And I so want to bring that and all that I write, to the place, where it would bring insight, truth, and wisdom. So your comments, are right on! I need people like you, and a few of my other friends, who have understanding, and knowledge of God, to voice their opinions as well. Especially according to the word, of God, as you have indicated in this. I support, blogs like this, and I so pray to bring people like you to visit. So, thank you very, very much, and I was very honored, to go to your blog as well. Perhaps you will subscribe. And I will check out, if I can as well. I hope so, your wisdom, is a blessing. Thank you, and God bless you………Elena Ramirez

      • Thank you for your kind words Elena. I’ve subscribed to your blog and added you to my blog roll as well.
        I must caution you though, my blog is much different in that it’s more geared to politics and fighting the scourge of Islam. I do have the tendency to get somewhat … uh … somewhat blunt in my writings. But know this, I love America and the American way of life and I sincerely think that we, as Americans are facing corruption like we never have. That’s why my blog is dedicated to exposing those that would take away our freedoms; religious or otherwise. You have an awesome website here, and I know for a fact you are NOT a “ground level” Christian.

      • Thank you, I appreciate the insight. I will appreciate your blog. I know, I will. We need people who speak truth, and I believe, where you are coming from, you will be able, to articulate it, for many of us.
        Thank you and blessings, I will check it, out. And add you as well. Elena

Leave a Reply

