LETTING GO OF THE MEAN STREAK~ARE YOU A MEAN OR CRUEL PERSON?


A cactus, if provoked can be cruel to the touch......

The merciful man doeth good to his own soul:  but he that is cruel troubleth his own flesh.  Proverbs 11:17.  Are you your own enemy in this, by submitting to being mean and cruel in your spirit?  You are hurting yourself.  You need to see this.

I feel led to write about the “Mean Streak” that can be in everybody.   Some people are better at being mean, and cruel, then most.  But, it can be evident, in any soul.

It can be a motivator, to do terrible things, and it can, sadly, be the destruction of some. What causes that mean streak?  To ignore it, and I really don’t hear anybody addressing this, but what causes someone who is going about their business, and all of a sudden, a prompting, of whatever it may be, will provoke, or instigate someone to release, that mean streak?

The devil himself is behind that, so beware!

Sometimes, it can be our environment, the way we are raised.  It could and will influence us greatly.  If your parents, displayed that mean, streak, you could also pick it up.  Now, I don’t want to confuse this with discipline.  For discipline, can be done, in love.  Christ corrects us, in love.  And if we listen to his voice early, the consequences of our sins, or the product of our actions, can be dealt with, compassion, or with at least, a lack of harshness.  Some were not corrected  or disciplined in love, so they do have that mean streak.

It is a behavior, and one should be taught at an early age, to love, and to be kind.  We have heard so many reports, of children who abused, animals, etc.  and then grew up, being an abuser.

It can be a learned behavior.  That you can change with the help of God.  A change of heart.  But I will just say this upfront, if you do not know Christ as your Lord and savior, and accepted him, as Lord, and savior, you will not have any success in trying to change this.  So, first priority, is to go to his throne, and make it right with him, for your salvation.

For, if we continually disobey God, and go on doing whatever it is, that is wrong in his sight, over, and over again.  We may very well reap, the severity of the crime, of sin.

Maybe thats why I feel led by the Holy spirit to write about this.  About letting go of the “mean streak.”  Maybe someone deals with this often, and it controls you.  Maybe, you need to see this, because you are headed, for destruction, because of this emotion, or trait, that is really going to be your downfall.  Because you do not control it, it controls you.  And the mean man shall be brought down, and the mighty man shall be humbled, and the eyes of the of the lofty shall be humbled.  But the Lord of host shall be exalted in judgement and God that is holy shall be sanctified in righteousness.  Isaiah 5:15-16

And you have been known to have fits of rage, and anger, and you get mean.  And ugly.  Very ugly.  For it is ugly, very, very ugly.  And when you hear of people, who have done mean things to someone, or something, especially someone helpless, or who is unable to protect themselves from someone like that, it is called “abuse”  You hear of abuse to helpless, critters, animals, or wife abuse, spousal abuse.  Word abuse, and being mean, on, and on, and on.  Sadly, and this produces people who are adults, who were children, victims of abuse.  So recognize this….Again, I warn you, change, because that kind of cruelty, will not be shown any mercy by God.  Children are very vulnerable, and need protection, and love.  So, I emphasize this…..

Matthew 18:4 Whoso shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea!  Woe unto the world because of offences!  for it must needs be that offences come, but woe to that man by whom the offence cometh!  

Matthew 18:10-11  Take heed that ye despise not one of these little ones; for I say unto you, that in heaven their angels do always behold the face of My father which is in heaven.  For the son of man is come to save that which is lost.  

It is a spirit of being “mean and cruel.”  Many people have done mean things, and then they regret it later.  But the goal really should be, to recognize, that it can exist, in ANYONE and to bring it to the obedience of Christ.  And when I say anyone, I mean and know, it can be anyone.  No one is exempt, from this.  One must always be aware of this.  Even Christians.

For, I have seen, and heard, even Christians be mean, and you wonder why, would a Christian, say or do something that is mean, let alone, your average person, who does not know Christ. Yet they are mean….The key to nipping it, is identifying it as a problem.  And until, someone, really stops, and recognizes, it can be a problem, or it is a problem, will not do anything about it.

I will just say this here, I believe it is an issue of the heart.  And only Christ can change it, but you have to want to do something about it.  Ezekiel 33:11 Say unto them, As I live, saith the Lord God, I have no pleasure in the death of the wicked:  but that the wicked turn from his way and live:  turn ye from your evil ways, for why will ye die, Oh house of Israel?  

But in not doing anything about it, thats like a time bomb, getting ready to explode.  I know, I can write about this, because I have had a mean streak.  Now, I haven’t been cruel to animals, or deliberately tried to hurt someone.  But, when provoked, or even, testing people, I have been mean to some in the past.  A rudeness, a mean spirit, would be obvious.  Especially, when I was frustrated, or just dealing, with life, and it was not going my way.  And that is not of Christ.  I have repented of it.

I don’t know, if its a power trip, one goes through, to express, strength, but thats the wrong way to go about finding your inner strength.  Venting, or whatever.  But….That does not come from God, but from the devil himself.  So, one must know this, recognize this, and bring it again, to the obedience of Christ.

All I know, is when Christ, truly became my Lord, and savior, something changed in me.  It did not happen over night, and many issues, that I dealt with, throughout my life, including, anger, self-esteem issues, hurt, sadness, discouragement, and even learning to not be mean, had to be worked out, and is still being worked out in my life.

The key though, is knowing, what Gods word says, renewing your mind, and spirit, with the word of God.  Loving, others, as the goal.  Loving God.  First and foremost.  Kindness, and compassion, by Christ, has been my role model, to fashion myself after.  Gods great love for us…..

Thus, speaketh the Lord of hosts saying, Execute true judgement and show mercy and compassions every man to his brother.  And oppress not the widow, nor the fatherless, the stranger, nor the poor, and let none of you imagine evil against his brother in your heart.  Zechariah 7:9-10.  

Thinking, and meditating on Gods word, on doing the right thing, in the sight of God.  Letting his love, and compassion, and kindness, be the example.  Christ taught us how to be kind, how to be forgiving, how to deliver us from that spirit of being mean.  By who He is.  PRAYING….

It is always a choice.  You have to make the decision, to change.  And in “practicing” kindness, and love, and forgiveness, deliverance from anger, you are reinforcing who you are in Christ.  Let it go.  Let go of the meanness.  Ephesians 4:31-32 Let all bitterness and wrath, and anger, and clamor, and evil speaking be put away from you, with all malice.  And be ye kind one to another tenderhearted, forgiving, one another, even as God for Christs sake hath forgiven you.  

Forgive those who have been mean to you.  Do not recompense, evil for evil.  Recompense to no man evil, for evil.  Provide things honest in the sight of all men.  Romans 12:17 Turn the cheek like Christ tells us.  Walk away.  You don’t have to be with those who bring out that mean streak in you either.  Walk in love, be loving, love your enemies.

But let go of that mean streak, and let Christ, do a new and wonderful thing to your heart.  From moment to moment, trust him, and let his love, his spirit, be your guide.  He will guide you by the Holy spirit.  Now is a good time, to go to his throne, and ask him to take it away from you.  Let my Prayer of Hope, and honor, help you get to that place.

In His love….Just my thoughts, with love, Elena Ramirez

Father, I come before you humble.  Lord, I pray this prayer, for I see this in me, I repent of it.  Forgive me.  Change me, Lord, I do not want to hurt anyone, or my ownself, by being mean.  Take away this mean spirit.  Replace it with love, compassion, mercy, and kindness.  Help me not to react rudely, or harshly, when I am confronted, or even in a situation, that I have no business to be that way.  Lord, I seek you, to change my heart, to please you.  I forgive those who may have even taught me to be mean, by their example.  I release it.  Take it, as I even put it in a box, here before your throne, and you will seal it, and take it away from me.  For my own release.  I praise you, and thank you, knowing you have given me a new heart, a change of heart, for thy namesake.  In Jesus name.  Amen 

Check out, and ‘LIKE’ my new facebook page, with daily quotes, photography, and thoughts, for inspiration daily.  Go to Face book, and copy and paste this:

Elena Ramirez~Just My Thoughts~Christian Author & Inspirational Speaker

© All Copy Rights Reserved by law

Prayer of God Ministries….

The Best of God (A Testimony) This is a testimony of how God answered my prayer in Florida, by a sweet and beautiful way.  I hope it blesses you.

Elena Ramirez Prayer of God Ministries.

All prayer requests, comments, and feedback is appreciated.  If you would like to subscribe, you may do so, at the blog.  This will ensure that you will receive them and will help me manage, and keep your e-mail address, safe from spammers. Etc.

I am seeking employment to write for your newsletter, blog or newspaper.

If you would like more information, please contact me at prayerofgod@comcast.net.

You may also find more of my links, and information at the top link, of this blog, that gives my mission statement.

I pray Numbers 6:24-26 for you.

Please check out my web page of Daily Bible Stories.  Blessed by a ministry that provides this.

Click this link.

http://home.comcast.net/~poetryofhope/dailybiblestories.htm

I invite you, to check out this link if you need to go to the throne, and make it right with God.

The prayer I have written is the basic sinners prayer….I encourage you to read it, and pray it.

God loves you, and it is so important that we are right with God, because we never know, when he will take our lives….Be ready, and prepared.  Pray this prayer….

Prayer Of Salvation

If ever doing a word search for my Prayers of Hope, here at wordpress.com

Check out, the key word of:  “Prayers of Hope.”  Or search here, on my blog.

Elena’s other blogs to check out…..

Please Sign up for your subscription today on each one….

and be blessed….God loves you, so do I!!

http://fromelenasdesk.wordpress.com

http://poetryofhope.wordpress.com

http://testimoniesofgod.wordpress.com

http://scripturefoodforthought.wordpress.com

http://web.mac.com/elenasphotography


One thought on “LETTING GO OF THE MEAN STREAK~ARE YOU A MEAN OR CRUEL PERSON?

  1. Pingback: “DEAR ELENA” HELP ME WITH MY MEAN STREAK! ~ Scriptural advice by Christian author Elena Ramirez | "Dear Elena" Scriptural Advice

Leave a Reply

