MY THOUGHTS ABOUT THE MOVIE UNBROKEN ~ BY CHRISTIAN AUTHOR ELENA RAMIREZ


I recently went to go see the movie Unbroken.  Directed by Angelina Jolie.  I had heard a lot of hype about it, so I decided to go and see it myself.

The story line from what I had heard really interested me, about what this man went through, and suffered, and that he was a Christian.

But I also heard, that his Christianity was not really mentioned too much in the movie.  That concerned me, because as a testimony it should give glory to God.  I had heard Mr. Franklin Graham, say on television, that a chapter was missing.  The chapter, where he went to one of Mr. Grahams revivals and Mr. Louis Zamperini gave his heart to Christ.   So I thought, oh no, here we go again, Hollywood is leaving God out of it.

But, that was not the case.  Angelina Jolie, did a beautiful job, in portraying this mans life.  His struggles, his brothers influence, his sense as a child, that he could not do anything.  It showed his great accomplishment to enter into the Olympics. And that he was very gifted.  He did not see that, but his brothers influence, really helped him.  It is a story of learning great strength, and hope in a time of adversity.  This man learned, if he could “take it, he could make it.”  This is what his brother taught him.

Then he went to serve our country.  And in doing so, he found himself, in a lot of trouble, when the plane they were flying in, crashed, after being attacked from the air patrol, they were in to defend our country.  

Three men survived.  One friend, was a Christian, who prayed.  The other, was a good man but he had no hope it seemed.  And….Louis, was a strong man in that which was portrayed of him.  But, he struggled too.  For over a month I am guessing, they were on a raft.  Starving, and not having water, and having the elements of the ocean against them, the sun beating on them, and trying to survive.

In one moment, of the movie, if you did not recognize it, you could miss it.  But it being a small moment, was a very great moment, when he told God, if you save me, I will serve you for the rest of my life.  

God saved him.  Spiritually and physically.  Did he know he was saved?  Did he know Christ entered his life?

Well, the good news, and the bad news of it was they survived.  Two of them.  The one without hope had died.  But they were captured by the Japanese army, and  tortured.  Louis suffered, even more so, at the hand of the commander, they called the Bird.  This man was ruthless, sadistic, and cruel.  For no reason, it seemed like he picked more and more on Louis.

I actually cried, at what he went through.  Was it because he was an Olympic star at one time?  Why was this commander so cruel to him?  Or what?  I don’t know.  Maybe it was because he was a Christian, though you did not see him pray, any more, in the movie, but he had asked God for help.

My thought is this, without giving away any more of the movie, but when he was rescued at the end of the war, and went home, and was reunited with his family.  

God had answered his prayer.  God fulfilled his part of it.  God saved him!  From what happened, and all that he suffered but God saved his soul on that raft!

This is reflected.  On the postscript of the movie.  He served God.  

Now this is just my thought on it, because I haven’t even read the book, or know all that happened, but Louis, began to work out his salvation, with trembling and fear.  

Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. (‭Philippians‬ ‭2‬:‭12‬ KJV)

  When he came back home to the United States.  From what I understand he had a lot of stress, nightmares, and yes baggage from what he went through.

Yes… God used the Billy Graham ministry to help him.  To bring him closer to God.

But the glory goes to God.

And with no disrespect to the Billy Graham ministry.  I know many are upset that this ministry was not mentioned.  But we need to see God in this.  And nobody else.  You see, I myself, went to one of his revivals and gave my heart to God.  I am grateful for Billy Grahams ministry.  

But I really believe my salvation began when I cried out to the Lord broken, at one point.  Yes, I publicly gave my heart to Christ.  But also in privacy.  There I believe He met me, and saved me, and then later yes I made it public.  And being public, is saying to the world, I am not ashamed that Christ is my savior.    

But it is Christ who I know saved me.  God, daily guides us.  And some ministries do help.  But it is our own responsibility to seek God.  The Lord will save any of us, if we just ask Him.  In this relationship.  It is only by the grace of God, that we are saved.  

I believe that is why Angelina was so touched by this man, to want to make this movie.  She saw what God could do, in someones life.  And nobody else.  I don’t know if she is a Christian or not, but I have the feeling that she is.  I have the feeling she is like many of us, just searching.  But his story touched her, and I believe she seeks God.  She now, has a clearer sense of who God is.  And that is what its all about.  Yes some help us.  I hope to help some.  But I want to be ever so careful to give God only the glory.  

But, one thing I have learned, and to get into deeper, in thought.  We all try to serve God if we are Christians.  But we must be careful not to try and get the glory in some thing, that only belongs to God.  And I am not saying this ministry is doing that.  I am just saying lets give God the glory….

At the end of the movie, and I am sure at the discretion of Angelina, the director, she made sure, that every one could read, that Louis, had kept his part in serving God.  That was the agreement.  That was what Louis asked for, in that raft.

So for it to portray more of what happened, is really from your own perspective.  And really some things are left to the imagination.  But, I believe it did give glory to God. I believe she did a beautiful job in directing it.

And I believe, and pray God bless the Graham ministry.  But I believe, we cannot take our eyes off of the fact, that God saved him on that raft, and not afterwards….

Just my thoughts anyway.  It was a beautiful movie, and I hope whoever sees it, will see Gods plan, and Gods glory that he met Mr. Zamperini on that raft.

That no matter what situation, we are in, God can save us through His son our Lord Jesus Christ.  But my friends, we do have our part.  It starts by repenting.  By confessing Jesus Lord.  By giving our hearts to Christ.  By telling Him, we believe He died for our sins.  Then we grow… In prayer, in reading a good Bible, like my King James, and just trying daily in this lifetime we are given.  To love one another, to forgive.  As he did, by going back to Japan, and seeking closure.

Maybe we can make a difference.  The testimony of this man, does give glory to God.  And his life does reflect he served God.  Thats really what it is all about for any of us, that call our selves Christians.  And to the glory of God.

Blessings, Elena Ramirez

Please sign up for the blog, and also read my testimony.  I pray, that all glory goes to God.  I pray, that you can find something here, that will bring you closer to God.  To instruct, inspire, and motivate you in your own search for God.  And His ways.

 

Leave a Reply

