WHY IS IT GOOD TO BE HUMBLE? ~ By Christian Author Elena Ramirez


Why is it good to be humble? Hmmm. I just had to eat some humble pie just a few minutes ago. I had a post, that I put on concerning my art, and methods, that I wanted to share with some folks, in an art group, I am in, and they took it down. Labeled it; “self-promotion.”

This is the post….if you want to see. https://www.instagram.com/p/C5v_gnQAsjh/

Talk about bursting my bubble. Lol. My method I was excited about concerns making bubbles, in my art, with texture. And ink. And why do I share it here? Because well this is my page…. Enough said.

I apologized. I do not want to break rules. Whether I agree with them or not. I did not realize I had crossed a line into self-promotion. I did obviously to the administrator in charge of this group. I was just actually so excited, that I was learning a new method, and I wanted others to know about it. But I apologized.

Its not easy to be humble. Especially if you’re misread, which I am often. And maybe sometimes, I do come off maybe a little assertive, or aggressive. But I do want to be humble in the sight of God, even though, HE does give me courage. But I also realize, you cannot just sit in the sidelines, and not try to reach goals. Because of others self imposed rules.

I always wonder, why in art groups, they have these stipulations, but of course, when you do your art, like in anything, you say, look what I did, I am so excited. You want to express it… But not everybody shares in your enthusiasm, and so being humble, helps you. To know….

So I need to find the balance in that always. But what does God see, when we try and be humble?

King James verses, says, God lifts the humble and turns from the proud.

BUT HE GIVETH MORE GRACE. WHEREFORE HE SAITH, GOD RESISTETH THE PROUD, BUT GIVETH GRACE UNTO THE HUMBLE. JAMES 4:6 King James.

I want God to lift me up, and if HE sees something in me, that is proud, or defiant, whether right or wrong, that puffs myself up, I know HE would see a characteristic of the enemy. Being prideful, not acknowledging one’s short comings, is not being humble.

So, I do want to be careful. In His sight. I have learned long ago, to apologize, or to be gracious. But being humble, daily is an on-going thing, you just don’t do it once, you practice it.

I love seeing grace, or mercy, or understanding, to give someone the benefit of the doubt. But if we are not humble, gracious, ourselves, how can we expect others to understand? I mean, what I am trying to say, is I just don’t want to be stubborn, or kill a dead horse? Insisting on my own way. I know that hinders my growth. Do you know what I mean, by being stubborn, prideful, and not humble?

I am not a pushover, any more either though. But there are times, well like even in this situation where I think its more beneficial to be gracious, and say, I did not mean that, but I apologize.

Oh well, just some thoughts friends, on the matter. All I know, is I really want to please God. At this point of my life, thats all that really counts to me. So, I try and watch that with myself and yes others. I want to grow, I want to bear fruit, that gives God glory in my life.

THE HUMBLE SHALL SEE THIS, AND BE GLAD; AND YOUR HEART SHALL LIVE THAT SEEK GOD. PSALM 69:32 KJV

If it means being humble, does not open the door to the enemy. So be it. If it means, even though I feel a little misunderstood, so be it. If it means, that they think they got one over on me, so be it. And they put a block on me, as an obstacle in my goals, to hinder me, then so be it.

Because God really is my defender, in matters, and when I am being still, and let God. By being humble, HE does miraculous things in my life. HE lifts me up, HE opens doors, and I don’t even have to try that hard. I think I am going to keep working on being humble…

There are so many King James scriptures on being humble. Being humble changes us, we are not so stiff-necked, pliable, easy to be used for the Kingdom of God. I see the benefits. I hope you take the time and look them up in a good Bible app, or Concordance for a King James.

HUMBLE YOURSELVES THEREFORE UNDER THE MIGHTY HAND OF GOD, THAT HE MAY EXALT YOU IN DUE TIME. I PETER 5:6 KJV.

P.S. So after I wrote this, and I kind of thought about it, I just thought to create a group, where “self-promotion” is accepted. And where artists and those who do crafts can have a place to sell their art etc. I mean, after all when we as artists show our work, aren’t we looking for some kind of considerations, in buying or whatever. So here’s a link to my group, if you are an artist, and want to express your methods, or sell or buy in this group. My disclaimer is this though: I am not responsible for your interactions with others.

Here is the link: https://www.facebook.com/groups/994449845639377

Just my thoughts, with love,

Elena Ramirez

Leave a comment